Skip to content

Wonderful Word: Melissophobia

January 24, 2010

Maybe it’s a bit weird to have a phobia as one of my wonderful words, but this one just sounds so nice!  Melissophobia = the fear of Melissa.

Really.  I promise! 😉

In Greek, “melissa” is the word for honey bees, so Melissophobia is the fear of bees. It’s one of the more common phobias, though I’m not a sufferer.  I’ve got a healthy fear of roaches, but bees don’t bother me too much.

To help you remember the word, let me tell you a story.

Picture this: Easter.  I am twelve years old, sweet and innocent. (Hey, it’s my story!  So what if I was an obnoxious adolescent?)  We go over to the neighbors’ farm for an old fashioned egg hunt.  Lots of fun.  I find some plastic eggs. Yay!  I’m horrible at Easter egg hunting, so this is a big achievement.   I open one to get the jelly beans.  Because, you know, Easter eggs are always full of jelly beans.  But, they are not full of jelly beans.  My neighbors have a slightly dark sense of humor.  A bee flies out of the egg and chases me.

I scream and flap my arms and stomp my feet.  My family takes pictures of me.

The End (of the story, not the post, there’s a little more of that!)

So now I’m wondering if you’ve got a story to share?  What’s your favorite phobia?  Or, what’s one that causes you problems?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Webmonarch permalink
    January 25, 2010 4:02 AM

    Hmm, agoraphobia and eosophobia for their irony. Nice word!

    • January 25, 2010 4:20 AM

      Oh, wow, eosophobia… I’d never actually heard of that one. You taught me something new! So I guess eosophobes lean towards the nocturnal then?

Leave a Reply

